The death penalty is a controversial issue. Some people think it is an effective deterrent to crime, while others argue that it is inhumane and should be abolished. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate with regard to the effectiveness of the death penalty. Although some people find this form of punishment beneficial for fighting crime, others oppose it because they think it is brutal. In this essay, I will analyze both sides of the argument and provide my own perspective.

On the one hand, imposing the death penalty can be beneficial in a number of ways. Firstly, this form of punishment can potentially contribute to the reduction of criminal rates. For instance, it can be utilized as a warning to prevent people from committing crimes or to educate the younger generations to avoid bad behaviors. Secondly, criminals with serious offenses such as mass murder or terrorism should be convicted and face the death penalty to ensure the public's safety. In these situations, drastic actions are often supported in order not to create chances for these offenders to exploit loopholes and escape, causing confusion and danger to the community.

On the other hand, capital punishment also has negative consequences. Firstly, one of the main points is that this kind of penalty has detrimental effects on the people involved in its administration. For the families of both the victims and those sentenced to death, beholding this process can be too cruel, leading to mental and physical illnesses later. Besides, the executors, who directly carry out the process, are likely to suffer from psychological pressure and guilt. As a result, their lives are severely disrupted. Secondly, a significant drawback of this kind of penalty is that it is irreversible, which can come with lots of risks. In particular, a mistaken judgment can cause severe damage to innocents. For example, in case a person is unfairly sentenced, if he had already been executed, there would be no chance to vindicate him. This might be an unfortunate loss for him and his family.

In conclusion, while the death penalty can be beneficial in preventing crimes or ensuring public safety, there still exist certain disadvantages and risks. In my opinion, I propose that this format should be abolished due to its inhumanity and irreversibility. Apart from that, the government can also develop an alternative method so as to reduce crime rates, such as replacing the death sentence with life imprisonment or providing re-education programs for prisoners.