Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, using modern technology devices such as smartphones has become a popular habit, among which children are included. This essay will analyze the reasons for the excessive use of smartphones by children and explain whether this habit is beneficial or unbeneficial for these young individuals.

With regard to this habit, there are several fundamental factors leading to it. An apparent element is the diverse source of entertainment on smartphones. These devices are now connected to the internet, which combines a variety of game apps as well as online platforms such as YouTube or Facebook. The attractive and amusing contents of these are able to cause addiction among children. However, the most significant aspect might be a lack of parental management. In particular, a large number of parents still let their kids play on smartphones uncontrollably. This deed partly comes from the overindulgence of parents but also from their inadequate knowledge about this issue.

In my view, this habit has to be terminated due to its detrimental effects. Firstly, an apparent consequence is its harmfulness to children’s health. Specifically, the screen of smartphones emits a large amount of blue light into our eyes. In the long term, it will lead to visual diseases such as myopia or astigmatism. Secondly, smartphone addiction can keep children from contacting family members. This will cause division in the family as well as poor communication skills among the children.

In conclusion, the habit of overusing smartphones among children comes primarily from poor parental management and uncomplicated platform accessibility. On account of their long-term illnesses and the loss of connection with their families, I strongly oppose this habit and hope that people will soon address a practical solution to this issue.