In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of ageing populations

Nowadays, the increase of average life expectancy is considered as a matter in many developed countries. There are several impacts of this trend, and effective solutions need to be taken to address these potential problems.

To begin with, the rise of ageing populations is likely to lead to some negative effects on society. Firstly, people live longer and populations in industrial countries grow older. This would lead to a growth of retired people who will receive pension after leaving their work. As a result, there would be a reduction of young populations who are major workforce. Secondly, elderly people need to be ensured with health care services. Consequently, working adults may have tax burden. Moreover, due to ageing population increases, young people have to stay at home to take care of their elder people which may increase burden. Therefore, this problem may lead to the reduction of population growth.

Several effective solutions should be proposed to tackle the increase of average life expectancy. First, the government should raise the retirement age so that people who are working may have to retire later. This would help raise the state of worker’s pension. Consequently, people can save more money for their pension, which could reduce taxpayers in paying for health care. Moreover, it is necessary for the government to fund for medical research which might create medical advances in helping people to stay healthy and work for longer. Finally, because there would be an imbalance between young and old population, government should have population balanced policy. This can be done by encouraging people to have more children.

In conclusion, explosion of aging population is caused by many reasons, and several solutions need to be taken to solve this problem.