Some people think they have the right to use as much fresh water as they want, while others believe that government should control the use of fresh water as it is limited resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

People have different views to face the growing demand for fresh water. While unlimited using of fresh water is a basic human right, I would argue that there should be regulations by government to restrict the use of fresh water.

On the one hand, freely choosing how much water people can use has several advantages. Firstly, since people have to pay the water fees according to the amount which they use every month, they are responsible for water bills and know how to save money by using water properly. Therefore, they can use fresh water freely like other commodities such as coffee, rice and clothes. Secondly, because tap water is a basic living condition which people have different demands, unlimited water using helps people to do not worry about lack of water for production and individual using. For example, people who are doing farming needs the much larger amount of water for irrigation than an average person does. If the utilization of water is limited, it might have negative impact to stability of society.

On the other hand, I believe that it is beneficial for people when government control the water system. First, as fresh water is a finite resource, mandatory restrictions on water consume rise people’s awareness of saving the water to use in more crucial purposes such as producing food and medicine rather than filling private swimming pool. This allows the government to prevent water exhaustion. Moreover, the increasing number of population leads to the growing demand of water, which causes the shortage of water especially in some parts of the world where are limited supply of fresh water such as Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nigeria. Consequently, the government need to control the fresh water system to ensure that every citizen has equal right to use water regardless of the rich or the poor.

In conclusion, while using water freely is beneficial for people to some extent, I believe limiting the figure for water which each citizens can use by government is a better option.