In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problem will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population.

In the last century, an important increase in the average life expectancy has been seen, but this does not only bring good news. This essay will discuss the main problems that longer life duration may cause for people and societies while proposing plausible solutions to cut its negative impact.

The longer average life expectancy does not always come, in fact, with better health conditions: often times older people have major health issues that need medical surveillance. Consequently, they live longer but in worse conditions, and a number of resources are used to take care of them. For example, sometimes hospitals accommodate elderly people for months, even years, and they use every resource they have to keep them alive. As it might seem right, it has to be noted that aggressive treatment does more harm than good on old people and it exploits healthcare supplies. One different problem is the growing old of societies, both because of longer hope for life and the scarcity of births. In Italy, the increase in age of people is making the society move toward a future of old governors, while younger generations either leave the country or do not have the financial possibilities to procreate.

Among all the solutions that could be found, the investment in bettering life conditions could help sooth the problem discussed above. In the long run, actions should be taken by the Government Administration to improve the quality of the food people eats and air people breathe, as those represent the foundations of good health. If diseases' rate drops, elderly people could take advantage of their longer life expectancy by not being a burden for society, but an important resource of pieces of advice. On the other hand, when it comes to the need for rejuvenating the community, incentives such as economic bonuses could be given to couples to help them feel more financially supported when deciding to take a baby into the world.

To conclude, in the developed world, where societies are growing older, the focus should be put on healthcare for the elders and financial support for younger families.