Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

When young people choose which university to attend, they are also deciding between continuing to live at home or moving out of their family homes. Since this choice can be very difficult, young adults spend months upon deciding between the two possibilities. In reality, both situations include different advantages and disadvantages that will be discussed in greater detail in this essay.

While some people wish to study abroad or enroll in a particular university far from home, some others make the practical choice of staying with their parents while completing their higher education. One of the benefits that come from this decision regards the money spent, for example, on rent and bills, which are cut out completely. In addition, the student can have more time to focus on his academic career or to get a job and earn some extra money. The closeness to the family is another important advantage to be considered. Even though this reality may seem full of benefits, there are some drawbacks such as the lack of independence when compared to other peers.

On the other hand, the independence that comes from living far from home is not easy to maintain. The expenses, which can be numerous, require the student to deduct time from his studies to go to work. Lack of time and a long list of home and university duties can be stressful in the long run, because there is no other person to help complete all of them. It is commonly believed, though, that young people who live far from their families at a young age will more likely continue to live abroad and pursue their careers in other countries.

In conclusion, the list of advantages and disadvantages are long, and either choice of living at home or moving out need thoughtful consideration. In my opinion, the difference lays in the person that has to make the choice, since many factors need to be scrutinized.