In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society?

Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population.

People argue that in many developed countries, the average human lifespan is increasing more and more as people are eating better as well as exercising more and this results in living longer. This will cause a serious issue is putting a heavy burden on the government and it can be addressed by expanding the retirement age.

Population ageing issues will create a heavy burden on the government and this is also the biggest challenge in developed nations. Indeed, to gain well-being for the elderly who exceed the working-age, the government has to devote a large budget to old people such as retirement pension, over 80 pension or fund for the elderly healthcare organizations. It is obviously those people not only take a budget from the government but also don’t create added value, that is, they can’t make money. Besides, the population scale in the workforce will reduce since it loses a large number of laborers and therefore, tax revenue of the government. It will be more serious if the growth rate of the ageing population is significant. Consequently, it will impact negatively on the economy's health.

Although there are a lot of solutions to limit the adverse effect of the ageing population, expanding the retirement age may be the easiest way. Nowadays, people aged between 60-65 are still healthy enough to continue working because they can access higher health service quality as well as have a higher living standard. For instance, before the average lifespan was about 65 years old and they were as old and weak as the person who is over 75-year now, and their productivity was very low at the same time, while the people aged 65 now can work normally. In addition, increasing the retirement age will help manufactures have a richly experienced workforce and save the cost of training new employees who have just entered the labor market. As a result, tax revenue will increase significantly.

In conclusion, increasing the retirement age should be applied to deal with the problem which will be caused by an ageing population in developed countries. If I were a policymaker, I would like to put forward this solution.