In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the best way to solve the problem is by providing schools and teachers. Some others think that it is better to provide computers and Internet access. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about how to aid children in rural areas regarding their access to education. Some people believe that the equipment of computers and the Internet can address the issue, while others do not. This essay will discuss both views in detail and provide evidence as to why the provision of teachers and schools is superior.

There are several compelling reasons as to why computers and the Internet should be provided.The primary justification is cost-effectiveness. The provision of computers and the Internet is much more affordable for the governments as it just involves the installation fees, the Internet connection and hiring some experts to give instructions for the students to use. Besides, the maintenance expenses are quite reasonable compared to the budget on employing teachers, repairing schools and so on. Moreover, It can be utilized for other purposes that relate to the children. Not only can they acquire knowledge from the Internet, which is informative, but they can also broaden their own horizon of other areas. It is true that they can learn Maths effectively with some software or recorded lessons by prestigious teachers. Besides, they can start learning how to play a musical instrument via tutorials on Youtube.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned merits, the ultimate and long-term solution for the problem still lies in the construction of schools and the provision of well-qualified teachers. It is true that the facilities in rural areas are not adequated compared to those in the city centers. By building more educational institutions and appointing new teachers for these regions, the matter can be alleviated because it is the shortcut to raising their education level as when it comes to learning, nothing is comparable to teachers’ role. In a classroom setting, students can grasp the lesson far more efficiently as they can ask about any problems they do not understand completely and receive instant replies from their teachers. Or, they can exchange their opinions with friends and come up with the best answer to tricky questions, which means they can blend with their peers and learn from others’ strengths while improving their own weaknesses. It means that both teachers and students actively participate in the lessons.

In summary, albeit the equipment of computers and the Internet can temporarily tackle the issue, I firmly believe the primary and fundamental solution is the provision of teachers and schools.