A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the use of other is rapidly declining

It is a positive or negative development

These days, there is a tendency that a small number of languages have prevailed in the world, while many others are being less spoken. In my opinion, this trend could bring both positive and negative consequences.

On the societal level, there are substantial benefits when many countries share common languages. The primary virtue is that it facilitates cross-cultural communication, which boosts international trade and cultural exchange. In retrospect, people used to be neglected to trade outside their countries’ borders due to the fact that it is utterly difficult to comprehend people who speak a different language. Whereas nowadays, ones who are bilingual or polyglot find it easier to do business or work because their issues and demands at work can be addressed and discussed thoroughly. More interestingly, it provides an equal opportunity for people from less developed countries to compete with those from the developed ones. To be more specific, by acquiring languages that are frequently used in business, science or technology, they can accelerate their study and work. For example, India has made a leap in every aspect, from the economy to the technology, partly by using English as their official language.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned merits,the fact that other languages are becoming less popular can bring several downsides. In the first place is that communities would lose parts of their venerable traditions such as songs, myths and poetry which are not easily translated into another language. This may have an adverse bearing on their cultural identity, leading to a weakened social cohesion as their values and practices have been replaced by new ones.

Moreover, this trend affects not only the local culture but human civilization as a whole.If all country commences using the same language, it will gradually destroy the cultural diversity of the world.

In summary, albeit i believe the trend is inevitable in the era of globalization, people need to have measures to protect and preserve their less spoken language as a way to maintain their cultural identity