The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

Some experts often argue that within a few centuries English will predominate all other languages in the world. Having a universal language might give rise to globalisation, ease communication, and bring everyone together. Nonetheless, there will also be numerous drawbacks.

First and foremost, one of the major pros for having a global language would be that every country can trade easily and the flow of information might increase exponentially. Furthermore, all this will lead to unity in nations and they could focus more on worldwide affairs together. Lastly, every one would be on the same level of understanding, since each of us would be proficient in a single language.

On the other hand, every language represents a unique culture. For instance, my country India has a variety of languages such as Punjabi which is spoken by people from the region of Punjab or Bengali which is the native language of the state of West Bengal. So, if we eradicate all other languages except one, all these cultures would be completely eliminated. Moreover, it would be really hard for everyone to learn a completely new language all of a sudden, and it might take centuries to shift to a very different dialect. Thirdly, more and more advancements are coming due to technology, and we should make the most out of it, such as we have google translator which can translate from one language to the other. Lastly, there was a language Esperanto, which was built only for the purpose of international language, nonetheless, it failed because of the negative reaction of language learners.

To recapitulate, considering the aforementioned points, although there are countless positive points in keeping one global language, but we should rather sustain our cultures and local languages to ensure a rich heritage for succeeding generations.