The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

When people tend to travel more often, particularly to far-distant areas, they are more likely to use a popular language to interact with others. While having only one language across the globe might have various benefits, it also has many drawbacks.

It seems true that people will gain plenty of positive potential if they use the only language in the world. One of them is that access to information via traditional media and online platforms will become more convenient and approachable. As there are no longer any language barriers or lingustic contexts, people are able to directly read books and news without needing to have these things translated or interpreted. Another one is that having one language makes it easy for people to communicate with others coming from different countries. As a result, this provides people with an opportunity to develop the global economy and trade.

Nevertheless, using one language all over the world can have some shortcomings involving ethnic diversity and the tourism industry. It is obvious that one of the cultural values is associated with a language with which members of a community interact daily. As people stick to using another prominent language, they may gradually become assimilated and forget their native tongue, meaning that their identity and traditional values will be lost. Furthermore, this can also result in a significant decrease in tourism development. This seems to stem from the fact that people want to travel to a destination in order to explore disparate traditions, rather than a place that sounds familiar to them.

In conclusion, I believe that the development of one language has been widespread in the world. However, having a certain language will have both positive and negative sides.