Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Science and technology rapidly developing nowadays can bring harmful effects on the environment. Because of that, some people think that we need to live more uncomplicatedly to protect the environment. I agree with the opposite opinion that science and technology can solve environmental problems.

On the one hand, it is believed that all we need are having a simpler life and restricting the use of technology and science. Instead of transporting by cars, motorbikes, and trains, walking or biking are the better ways to move. In fact, a large amount of smoke and dust from vehicles will be minimized if there are no more engine-powered cars. Moreover, using leaves or sousing meat, vegetables in salt to store food for a long time are alternatives to the refrigerators. However, I do not think this is a good idea because we can not eat fresh food unless we buy and eat it instantly in the day so this point of view makes me feel like we are going back to a thousand years ago: vexatious and uncomfortable.

On the other hand, I think environmental problems can be solved easily within science and technology. Firstly, creating electricity from renewable resources such as water, wind, solar, can not significantly damage the environment. For example, the man who is using the electric stove can reduce gas or carbon dioxide that is in the gas stove, wood stove. Secondly, using helicopters to sow seeds in the forest can save more time and effort. In addition, aerial technology devices can detect and warn of forest fires, which is difficult for humans to do to handle in time. Finally, people invent a number of environmentally friendly means of transport such as electric trains, cars running on green energy nowadays; therefore, the air pollution has been largely solved.

In conclusion, there are some measures from simple living that are good for the environment; however, I still think that science and technology can help us to protect the environment more efficiently.