Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that culture plays an important role in the development of a nation. Therefore, the change of cultural identity has been a topic of general interest. It is widely acknowledged that there is a growing trend towards homogeneity among many nations the world over. While this phenomenon may bring about some benefits, I would argue they are eclipsed by more significant drawbacks.

On the one hand, the advantages of fewer differences between countries are irrefutable. First, it is an indication that the gap between rich and poor countries has been bridged. People in the latter can now access products that were previously out of their means. For example, most Vietnamese consumers can now buy clothes from brands that in the past used to be exclusive to Western countries. In addition, growing similarities between countries also help mitigate social inequality as this trend has helped abolish many antiquated perceptions. To illustrate, in Asian countries, more and more women, who used to be heavily discriminated in the workplace, are now assuming top positions in many organizations.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned benefits are at the expense of greater drawbacks. When global consumers buy the same imported products, demand for locally produced goods has been on the wane. This has led to an excess of products, which has forced many businesses to reduce their scale of operation, downsize, or even shut down, triggering mass unemployment. For example, in Vietnam, the prevalence of Australian beef is depriving thousands of Vietnamese farmers of their jobs. In addition to this, I am convinced that national identity is also being lost as a result of fewer differences between nations. As more and more societies embrace the Western lifestyle, traditional ways of life are being considered old-fashioned. The implication of this is that people would no longer appreciate their roots, which could potentially result in the brain-drain phenomenon.

In conclusion, while growing similarities between countries may have some positive aspects, I believe they are eclipsed by the more glaring negative aspects.