Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad.

Studying abroad is the dream of many students. They believe that studying in foreign country will greatly impact their life. There is no doubt about its benefits. Nevertheless, studying abroad also contains plenty of drawbacks. In order to make a better decision, we need to look at both the pros and cons of it.

On the one hand, students can get a lot of benefits when studying abroad. First of all, you can learn and train another language. As far as I know, nothing is better than to learn and practice your language with a native speaker. By immersing yourself in your new study destination, you will find yourself picking up new phrases and sayings and before you know it. Furthermore, you can have better learning opportunities. When studying abroad, you may receive the best possible teaching in your chosen field of study and have lots more options when it comes to programs. Lastly, it looks impressive on your résume and CV. When an employer looks at your CV and sees that you have studied abroad, it shows them that you are a well-travelled person who is open to different cultures and different perspectives.

However, along with those mentioned advantages, studying abroad also has a number of disadvantages. The first one is that it is expensive. In fact, the tuition fees are usually higher for international students and you not only need to pay for school fees but also living costs. As a result, your mind may be distracted from studying to earning money. Another drawback is homesickness. Studying abroad means going to another country that is vastly different to what you are used to and very far away from your family. Unlike when you study in your country, being halfway around the world will make it more difficult to go home for the holidays or for the weekend. This can cause sorrow and anxiety.

In conclusion, while studying abroad offers a wealth of advantages, it also has plenty of challenges. Thus, you must consider carefully before deciding to study in a foreign country.