Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using facebook as a means of online instruction

By virtue of coronavirus outbreak, humans have been witnessing unparalleled events in history that are a number of countries and territories around the world go into full lockdown, or officials like school and business are temporarily closed to sharp drop community spread, whereas educational quality still maintains thanks to technology. In Vietnam, most of the school are utilizing social networking sites to online instruction like Facebook. From my perspective, instruction and learning via this online platform compose advantages and drawbacks.

To begin with positive characteristic, there are myriad advantages to use Facebook as an online learning forum. First of all, Facebook is an available free app, so any instructor and learners also can create a personal account. To take an example, the instructor finds it easy to create a virtual classroom through Facebook and Facebook Messenger which they may generate projects by posting, or call video to instruct and learn. Learners can join Facebook group anytime in order to post their assignments, get feedback, or even comment on other posts. Besides, learners are more likely to join Facebook than email, so it is immensely beneficial for instructors to contact and interact quickly with their learners, and learners may send message to ask what they cannot understand about this subject. Last not but least, Facebook, stores a wide range of materials, permit learners to seek them easily if they missed any lessons. Now, Facebook is not only an entertainment app, but also an online learning tool which is one of the great solutions for education in this mishap situation.

In contrast, Facebook has multiple particular constraints on instructing and learning. One of obstacle that lecturers have difficulty managing and following their learners’ processes when compare with others app like Microsoft Team. On the dashboard page of it, lecturers can generate duties and manage as well as control their virtual classroom better. Moreover, this app permits one-on-one, voice call, or video conference involving groups without limiting time and people. Moreover, bearing in mind that Facebook’s original purpose is entertainment, so learners tend to lack of concentrate on lecturers’ posts and distract their attention from others exciting status or posts.

In general, thanks to Facebook, educators may deal with several problems in this trial situation, but it is not the best solution for learning online. Notwithstanding, whether using Facebook learning online is an immensely useful way or not that depends on how learners perceive it. This is a significant opportunity to learners adjust their self-study attitude.