Discuss the role of advertising in shaping consumer behavior. Explain how advertisements influence people's purchasing decisions and whether you think they have a positive or negative impact on society

how about this one? Advertising is an influential part of our society, but it can sometimes be misleading or scamming. In this essay, I will present how advertising influences consumer behavior, how it can have a positive or negative impact on society, and whether it is beneficial or harmful.

It is true to say that advertising plays a vital role in shaping consumer behavior, and can influence purchasing decisions or how customers view products or services. To begin with, advertising is a form of communication that aims to persuade potential customers to buy a product or service. Advertising uses various techniques such as repetition, humor, or celebrity recommendation to catch the attention and interest of the viewers. As a result, consumers can easily get attracted to one product or service through advertisements. Moreover, advertisements influence consumer behavior by creating awareness and interest, promoting their actions of purchasing with many deals in prices. For example, when an ad about one type of medicine appears, they might start the ads by providing the appearance of diseases that can affect health harmfully and other information. Then, they might continue advertising their product which can be used as a treatment for that disease and giving out deals in price that can promote customer’s action in the end.

Furthermore, in my opinion, advertisements can have positive or negative effects on society depending on how it is used. Advertising can be positive when it provides consumers accurate information and helps them make smart decisions. It can help consumers explore good new products, services that they may not have tried before, and even increases consumers’ awareness about social issues. Moreover, it can help consumers find suitable companies or brands. For example, if you are keen on video games, they can recommend you many games from various companies that you may like.

However, there are some drawbacks that can be mentioned, such as: advising consumers to buy low quality and harmful products, services, creating unrealistic expectations in a product or sometimes, they can be annoying to customers because of high frequency of appearance.

In conclusion, advertising is necessary in influencing consumer behavior and it has both negative and positive effects to the society. Whether it can be positive or not, it depends on the way it is used and how consumers receive advertisements on every platforms.