Discuss when, if ever, capital punishment can be viewed as a valid punishment for crime.

Capital punishment is one of the finest punishments that have both support and opposition from our society. Many of the people consider it as a valid punishment; on the other hand, there are people who are skeptical to this. This essay is an attempt to explain both the views.

Death penalty has pivotal role in the judicial system and it considered as one of the finest punishments that can be given to a brutal criminal. Also, it aids to retards the crime rate in our society, since people are afraid of this punishment. Moreover this fear can ensure the harmony of our society. In addition to this, several criminals such as terrorists, Maoists who are harmful to the society, should be hanged till death as a precaution and for the wellbeing of other fellow members of the society. To cite an example, in India there were so many Maoists who tried to create an imbalance in our democratic system. Few years back, so many of them were caught and hanged till death. As an impact, the number of Maoists got reduced and it helped to maintain the harmony of our nation.

However, there are few demerits for capital punishment. First of all, humans do not have right to take life of others, since they are not the creator of life. Also, death penalty is also a murder. So the people behind of each capital punishment are also culprits. In addition to that, some innocent people may get hanged till death due to lack of proper prosecution. For instance, a Pakistani was convicted to capital punishment in India. After the execution of death penalty, the judiciary realized that, he was not a terrorist. Likewise, there are so many case reports from everywhere in the world.

To recapitulate, capital punishment is valid punishment, if it is given to a culprit who committed a heinous crime. So judiciary should ensure proper prosecution. Moreover, innocent people should not be punished.