The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the present scenario, as an impact of western culture the number of obese children increases day by day. From several statistics, it is evident that this is a cancerous issue which should be wiped-out from our societies. This essay explains the reasons and effects of this issue.

Every issue has a plethora of reasons. Likewise, overweight has also a number of issues. Firstly, unhealthy food that have been consumed by children, can affect their health adversely. Moreover, they are attracted to these fast food items, by reason of its taste. The ingredients that are added to improve the taste, is another factor that cause obesity. To cite an example, kids are fascinated towards these types of foods due to the taste and advertisement of certain fast food restaurants such as KFC and Pizza Hut. These advertisements can catch the attention of the kids. In addition to this, a child of this era does not have permission to go outdoors to involve in certain activities as well as games. This plays a pivotal role.

These causes will affect the children adversely. First of all, they may be affected by certain chronic diseases such as diabetics and heart disorder at their younger age. Moreover, obese children may be tortured by their friends and peer groups. Later, they might be get isolated in their group. This may lead them to mental trauma; as a result, they might become less productive. For instance, there are several pupils who stopped their studies to be rescued from the torturing of their friends.

In a nutshell, obesity in children should be cleared-out from our society to develop a healthy upcoming generation. Parents should allure them to involve in outdoor activities and guide them to follow a healthy diet to achieve this goal.