Discuss your opinion on how modernism can affect our health. What can the government do to overcome such situations?

Modern life can be very taxing. Today, we live faster, work more and have less free time than ever before. In addition, our conveniences come at the expense of the purity of the environment. In this essay I intend to delve into the negative effects of modernism on our health and the steps that can be taken to overcome them.

There is an age old saying, ―We are what we eat‖. This holds good even today. Nowadays, good food is hard to find. Many people are eating the quickest and the cheapest foods they can find, which, unfortunately, are the least nutritious. They lead to obesity which can predispose to many diseases such as hypertension and obesity.

The second major effect of modernism is lack of exercise. Machines and the automobiles have made our lifestyle very sedentary. In addition to it, the fast paced lifestyle and the IT revolution have increased our expectations from work. Not only that, the consumerist society also makes us work more. This makes us workaholics and as a result we suffer from stress which has led many to a nervous breakdown.

Many steps can be taken to combat the negative effects of modernism. The best way to do this is to start educating people on how to live a healthier life. This has to be done on a large scale. The government can take the help of the media for this purpose. There should be a ban on the ads of fast foods. People have to be told the difference between a healthy meal and a fattening one. Secondly, exercise should be incorporated in our daily routine. For short distances, people should be encouraged to walk. This would kill two birds with one stone as people would be healthy and also pollution from vehicles would reduce. This pollution also causes health problems. Finally, government should fix working hours. This would give people more time to relax and exercise.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, modernism can affect our physical and mental health but government can take many steps to lessen these effects.