In many countries, the quality of life in the large cities is becoming worse. What causes this problem? What measure can be taken to solve it?

In the recent decades, the undeniable truth has presented the growth of urbanization. Unfortunately some negative aspects are also witnessed along with this development. This essay intends to analyze the empirical causes of this situation and suggest some sustainable solutions.

To begin with, the most common problem in many cities is environmental pollution and unhygienic surroundings. This is because cities act as magnets for people of the rural areas as a result cities have to house more people than they can possibly afford. Therefore it is hard to maintain cleanliness and unhygienic surroundings are the breeding ground for germs and cause many health problems. On top of that, the spending capacity of people has gone up and so more and more people are buying their personal vehicles. This vehicular pollution affects the quality of air and leads to many respiratory ailments. All of these affect the quality of life in cities.

Furthermore, the cost of living is also pretty high in metropolitan cities. In large cities, land prices are exorbitant. Consequently, people are forced to buy ridiculously small homes for huge prices. Those who cannot afford to do so spend the whole of their lives in rented apartments. Worse still, the law and order situation in many big cities is not particularly good making them unsafe for visitors as well as those dwelling in those localities.

However, the solutions are not simple, but many of these problems can be solved with a little bit of planning. High population density is the main reason that reduces the quality of life in cities. Although this is not exactly avoidable, governments can reduce the migration to cities by making jobs available in smaller towns as well. For example, industrial units can be set up in small towns and villages. If these units employ the people living nearby they will not have to move into large cities. What’s more, the fact that cities are home to a large number of people makes it possible for civic bodies to collect more money from taxes et-cetera. These taxes can be utilized properly by civic authorities in building better roads

and flyovers that will ease the traffic congestion. And by improving the quality of public health care, the government can ensure that all people get medical attention when they need it.

To sum up, poor planning and the centralization of jobs is the main reason that reduces the quality of life in large cities. However, these problems are solvable to a great extent. The governments just need to make a determined effort to decentralize the jobs.