In many countries, children spend long hours on homework. Some people think less homework can reduce student's stress and give them a chance to develop other skills. What is your opinion about this?

People have been deeply divided over the homework issue for a long time. On one hand there are the proponents of homework who talk of its benefits and efficacy (effectiveness), and on the other hand we have some individuals, who would like schools to adopt a no homework policy for students. The given statement, however, raises a concern about too much homework and says that homework should be light and non-stressful. This essay completely agrees with the given notion.

On the one hand homework gives the chance for a student to learn lessons in a more comfortable environment. It helps to clarify the leanings made during the school day. It is an extension of class work that allows students to achieve mastery of the content or skills to be learned. It reduces time for TV and video games and promotes good study habits. It teaches self-discipline and time management and above all. it lets parents see what their children are doing at school.

However, when the children are overburdened with homework, all the advantages of homework seem to fade away and the dark side becomes prominent. Too much homework reduces family time. Most parents have to work full time in order to support their family today. When they come home, they want to spend time with their children, but children are too busy in homework. It also prevents students from helping parents in household chores.

Moreover, students need time to relax, play and pursue sports and hobbies. Too much homework can make students too tired after a long day at school. It may also keep them up too late at night. What is more, homework is often meaningless busywork, which does not promote real learning. Therefore, care must be taken to ensure that homework is relevant and linked to vital learning objectives at all times. It must be designed to deepen students’ understanding, and facilitate mastery of the material to be learned. Teachers should not overburden students with homework. There should always be reasonable homework timetables or schedules and homework should be age appropriate. It can range from one hour or a little less per night in the lower school, to three hours or a little more per night in the upper school.

To sum up, homework should be there, as it has many benefits, but it should be within reasonable limits and should promote real learning.