Do the advantages of using networks at work outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is fact that social network is one of the most multifunction tools for labor environment, in which there are more companies apply high-tech equipment into their work. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would agree that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, it is clear that social networks would bring about several negative aspects. One evident strength is that it would reduce the work performance each employee, such as employees who constantly refresh Facebook, send tweets on Twitter every few hours and watch Instagram stories several times a day are not working to their fullest potential. In other words, the possibility of the company network being exposed to malware, for instance hackers can launch spam or commit fraud through some social media platforms. This can be massively dangerous for the business and potentially damage for organization’s networks or computers with security breaches or the corruption of important files.

On the other hand, I argue that there are some obvious positive aspects of social networks would prove to be worthwhile. First, it creates the effective communication between employees and managers like thanks to a social network we are able to bring in a new channel of interaction that may allow for certain topics to be better addressed. Second, through social media sites, our employees can strengthen professional relationships with people outside the company. Then, these relationships can lead to opportunities that would otherwise not have been available. More and better connections may result in sales leads, interest in employment, business opportunities, and new ideas. Consequently, coworkers can use social media to interact with one another and build better relationships. A stronger relationship among employees leads to more cohesive and productive work teams. Social media is an easy way to encourage communication between employees and help to share ideas and increase engagement both while at work and at home.

In conclusion, there is downside to apply social networks at work. However, it seems to me that its upside would be more important regarding the efficient transmission information, the professional connections and the personal relationships between each employee.