Do children behave better when they are physically punished or rewarded?

Parents enable to use many methods in teaching children what is right and what is wrong. Some people think that physical punishment can suddenly affect children behavior, while others say rewarding should be a better alternative. This essay will discuss the results of both issues with children.

Physical punishment can be the fastest method that can respond to a child’s fault. Young people will behave better when they are punished because of fear. For example, a mother caned her son because he stole her money, so the boy feared and would not do negative actions in front of his mother; however, he might do when there was no one. Consequently, without advice, punishment could not support young children to clearly and reasonably understand the outcomes from their actions.

On the other hand, rewarding will benefit children in many ways. Giving young children rewards can be a positive reinforcement to motivate them to do great things. Also, this will promote children’s self-esteem and encourage them to become better and more successful. However, rewarding should have conditions that can be used to promote children’s efforts, but those rewards should not be given excessively.

In conclusion, both methods can be used effectively if rational advice is included. Children are still immature and need time from parents to teach and foster them to become altruistic world citizens. In the fast-paced world, there can be no doubt that people’s lives hasten causing the reduction of parents’ time for their children. Last but not least, family time is as important as proper ways to raise a child.