Do dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant example from your own experience or knowledge.

Most food that are purchased nowadays from small stores and supermarkets contain chemicals in them as these are used to preserve food for longer time.However, these have harmful effects. In my opinion, the potential dangers from this are greater than the benefits we receive.

To commence with, a variety of reasons can be offered to illustrate the use of chemicals in food. Firstly, it helps to improve the presentation of food and this is achieved, by adding colouring to the eatables which results in the increase in production, as people purchase food which looks tempting. Moreover, it also help to preserve food for long period of time which is beneficial for the companies as they earn greater profits.

This elucidates that it is only advantageous for the companies not for the consumers. Although companies claim that food is safe for consumption based upon facts and figures. But according to the various news articles and researchers, the continuous consumption of such chemicals is injurious to health and can cause cancer, tuberculosis and various other diseases. For instance, food additives have lead to hypersensitive reaction in children.

To recapitulate the given points, it is observed that despite of the benefits of adding chemicals to the food, I personally opine that it helps in the growth of companies but could be a danger for public yet it is difficult to stop the usage of chemicals in food.