Do you agree that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before?

Thanks to the technological breakthrough, rapid changes in the way people live has prompted. However, some people still doubtful about whether technology has given us more freedom time than earlier generations. In my opinion, it depends on how each gets the advantages brought by new technology.

On the one hand, it is clear that modern technology has liberated people from labor-intensive jobs which occupy a large part of their daily time. In terms of work environment, the factory has been fully computerized, enabling it to produce more effectively and efficiently. For example, the time production of a car has been decreased, owing to the robotics technology and conveyor belt which allowed mass production. From the perspective of household work, the technological revolution in the home started with the introduction of labor-saving appliances such as washing machine and dishwasher. Obviously, the amount of time saved from people's work can be allocated to their leisure activities.

On the other hand, some people become over-reliant on high-tech devices, so they find hardly for leisure activities. For instance, it is not an exaggeration to say that today the young generation spent more of their daily time on social media such as Facebook, Instagram than outdoor activities. These technological inventions exposure the young minds to a large amount of new information every day, leaving them no available time for their arts, sports. Moreover, spending too much time on their laptop or smartphone may lead to health problems for some youngsters.

In conclusion, I believe that modern technology has revolutionized the leisure time of people, but not all the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.