Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the day and age, it is thought by some people that television has hindered the contact among family and friends. Although I agree that, this type of media brings people closer together for some reasons.

On the one hand, TV set has several negative impacts on maintaining communication among people. First, watching television shift the focus of life among family members. For example, during dinner, parents and children tend to watch TV as an alternative to the dialogue with others, resulting in a decrease in the affection of family members. Second, TV program keeps individuals indoor instead of going out to play. In other words, when it comes to favorite shows, people often reject the invitation of friends in order to stay home, which consequently causes a crack in the relationship.

On the other hand, this kind of home entertainment also acts as an incentive for the interaction of human beings. To begin with, news on television creates more common topics for people to discuss. For instance, viewing quiz shows together will give individuals a good chance to debate the questions with others, which not only helps friends feel more connected but also strengthens the association. In addition, watching tv helps individuals solve the problem in their relationships. According to a psychologist, watching comedies about friends or family would help couples feel more exuberant, putting the trials and tribulations behind.

In conclusion, although television has a detrimental effect on communication among people, there are several advantages of TV in connecting them. Individuals should sustain an equitable balance between television and liaison so as to reinforce a comfortable society.