Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is thought by some people that television has hindered the contact among family and friends. Although I agree that, this type of media draws people closer together for some reasons.

On the one hand, TV set has several negative impacts on maintaining communication among people. First, watching television shift the focus of life among family members. For example, during dinner, parents and children tend to watch TV as an alternative to the conversation with others, resulting in a decrease in the affection of family members. Second, TV program keeps individuals indoor instead of going out to play. In other words, when it comes to favorite shows, people often reject the invitation of friends in order to stay home, which gradually causes a crack in the relationship.

On the other hand, this kind of home entertainment also has benefits in interacting people together. To begin with, news on television creates more common topics for people to discuss. For instance, by watching quiz shows together, friends can have a good chance of debate the questions with others, which not only helps them feel more connected but also strengthens the relationships. Moreover, watch tv help individuals solve the problem in their relationships. According to a professor of psychology, watching comedies about friends or family would help couples forget the quarrel in a short time, making all the problems less rigid and more comfortable.

In conclusion, although television has a detrimental effect on communication among people, there are several advantages of TV in connecting individuals in society.