Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television, newspapers, magazines, and other media pay too much attention to the personal lives of famous people such as public figures and celebrities. Use specific reasons and details to explain your opinion.

There has been a controversy that many media such as television, newspapers, magazines are paying too much attention to the personal lives of renowned people like public figures and celebrities. I personally agree with this statement, the following are the reasons why.

Most celebrities are bound to stick with the media, people get to know more about many celebrities based on the news they read on newspapers or magazines. Apart from the daily updates about their films, shows, or events, most of the time the so called paparazzi are constantly invested in the personal lives of famous people. Paparazzi are likely to follow them everywhere, invading their complete privacy like date nights or sometimes when they are at their own house.

The problem is that not only do the paparazzi spy on every single movements of the Hollywood stars but they also tend to post made up stories on the media to create misunderstandings between the readers and the celebrities themselves. For instance, there was a famous Chinese actress who were being followed by paparazzi 3 years ago on Chinese new year. She was going home with her male best friend which was also her assistant. The thing is the paparazzi do not even acknowledge that her friend is gay and they had the audacity to shame her on every social platforms saying she was cheating with her fiancé. Which lead to the downhill of her whole career for almost a year later even though her team had to clarify the truth.

In conclusion, I think that being a celebrity is sometimes frustrating and not everything goes your way. The media should choose carefully what to put on the internet and respect famous people’s boundaries and have their consent before publishing things up.