Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products , or is it the responsibility of producers?

The issue of over packaged products has become increasingly important during the last few decades, due to the damage that plastic is causing to the environment. This has raised the question: should we blame the producers or the consumers? In my opinion, the producers should be held responsible.

I believe the producers should be held responsible for the damages for two reasons: first of all, because they are the ones producing materials that cause the whole problem in the first place; and secondly, because they knowingly risk the well-being of the environment in the name of their companies' profits. Furthermore, most consumers, besides ignoring the real threats that plastic waste causes to the environment, sometimes have no option regarding the products that they buy.

Many big companies produce thousands of tons of over packaged goods a year, e.g. junk producers, know that their goods are totally unnecessary. However, they keep on bringing their merchandise out to the market in order to make profits. Also, they are very aware of the damage that their products can cause to the environment since they employ specialized employees such as chemists, who are responsible for reporting to the top executives of the company. Also, most employers have no idea about the deleterious components that plastic packing contains. Moreover, it is debatable if they should have the responsibility of being aware of such matters, since companies sell them the idea that the products they buy are of the highest quality. In addition, many countries in developing countries, for example, have no other option than to buy cheap over packaged junk food.

In conclusion, besides the producers, I think governments should also be held responsible for the damage caused, because they should make sure that these companies that they give permits to actually deliver eco-friendly products.