Do young people today make good use of their leisure time? Or do they spend too much time watching television and playing video games, instead of taking part in more productive activities?

With the growth in popularity of various new types of entertainment, many people have come to worry whether the youth of today are wasting their free time on activities considered to be unproductive, such as television and computer games. This essay will argue that young people are in no such danger.

First, the idea that such entertainment is not useful to children and teenagers is erroneous. This fact is illustrated by the vast improvements made in the eyesight of children who play video games. According to a recently published study, children who make regular use of this technology can differentiate between colors and shapes up to five times better than their counterparts who do not own game consoles.

Furthermore, the modern world is dangerous, and few alternatives are available to children these days. Children who do not have devices in their homes to keep them occupied will be forced to go outside, this will surely lead to them being victims of crimes such as robbery or kidnapping. Their own coach is arguably the safest place for them.

Finally, the boys and girls of today are autonomous beings, more astute than those of the past, and therefore can be trusted to make their own decisions about what type of activity they would like to take part in, and these days most children wisely choose to spend their time indoors.

In conclusion, in the dangerous world in which we live children are correct to choose digital entertainment over other activities, as not only is it safer, but it also has its own benefits.