University education should be restricted to the very best academic students, rather than being available to a large proportion of young people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The restraint imposed on the number of students enrolled in universities is controversially discussed. Some advocate that only academically talented youngsters should have access to tertiary education, on the contrary, universities are publicly considered as a compulsory stage for a majority of teenagers. From my personal viewpoint, university education should be contemplated as a crucial period to discover a youngster’s strong suit rather than a disparity between a good academic student and an ignorant one.

To commence with, restrictions to the good-performed students to attend universities could cause waste on undiscovered talents in different fields and unfulfillment in pursuing major. Discrimination for students who have bad academic performance would not help them realize their full potential since they are not provided with chances to approach other social aspects and sectors of employment outside their textbooks. Likewise, even talented students may not find their major interested owing to the fact that their enrollments are assessed through their academic results, not by their personal inborn talent. Therefore, this measure, in all likelihood, will cultivate a workforce generation without creativity and passion for their jobs.

In terms of societal effect, this could cause a threat to the economic development of a country. Obviously, the contemporary competitive environment strongly demands people to get a higher education degree to acquire professional specialization. A degree helps people land a stable job with good pay and promotes job satisfaction. Additionally, having high and stable employment generates more GDP in a country. Without many graduates, the country faces a risk in the loss of a skilled workforce, and the loss of creativity so that the economic development of a country would slow down.

In conclusion, from my point of view, university education should be accessible by everyone. Not only does it make an individual skillful, but it also provides businesses with chances of capitalizing on rich human capital.