Some people support the opinion that reading is an enjoyable activity that not only fosters their literacy skill, but also stimulates their imagination. As reflected in recent studies, does not advance other abilities, which are crucial to a child’s early development. I strongly believe that whilst reading might be considered entertaining for some, it falls short on providing a fun avenue through which child’s other skills can be fostered.

Firstly, child’s participation in group activities such as sports is proven to develop their communication skills, ability to cope with failure, as well as spatial awareness and hand-and-eye coordination. Children create social bonds with their peers and develop cooperation skills that cannot be discernibly expended on by reading up on companionship and camaraderie. For instance, in the US, many tertiary education programs have a strong focus on applicant’s athletic, as well as academic success, which goes to demonstrate their discipline and dedication to keep up with set goals in a group environment. This is not to completely diminish the importance of reading as a way of cultivating a child’s imagination and creativity, however, it best done in conjunction with other activities to further child’s talents.

Secondly, reading is not the only avenue to pursue when developing a young mind’s creativity with a plethora of different recreational activities, such as painting, writing, or playing an instrument that are beneficial to child’s overall well-being. Creating art, rather than rather than reproducing scenes from novels is, arguably, a more active use of one’s imagination. Children are able to translate their thoughts and dreams onto paper or by playing and instrument, which ultimately helps them deal with their emotions and mental health, engaging in art therapy by effect. This is best illustrated in the study by Stanford University Graduate School of Education that tracked mental health of school-aged children and found that the group actively participating in arts and music classes with a counsellor’s guidance displayed better mental health.

To summarise, child’s active participation in sports, or pursuit of other creative outlets other than reading can not only be better for their motor skills, but also simultaneously support their mental well-being.