Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

According to some, educational system should provide a purely informative and instructive function with a focus on a strict curriculum, whilst others are of the belief that incorporating unconventional, holistic methods would serve for a more engaging learning environment. I strongly advocate the latter, as maintaining student engagement is pivotal in increasing academic performance in classes and preparing them for their future.

Firstly, conventional methods of acquiring knowledge are patently obsolete as they’ve served to be a ready-made and easy blueprint for many generations of teachers and their pupils alike. With little to no adjustments in teacher’s expectations, mechanical repetition and regurgitation of absorbed information by students is unlikely to result in lasting knowledge, nor will it result in classes that cater to individual student’s need, hence creating a disparity between traditional high performers and disadvantaged students that may struggle with learning. Take, for example, the recent study conducted by Australian National University in partnership with the Australian Federal Government, which demonstrated that pupils aged 8-16 are more likely to retain information in a long run when a class is delivered through interactive media, such as videos, or practical tasks. Therefore, in order to properly support all students, classes should be delivered incorporating novel approaches to make the study material more interesting and effectively increase engagement.

Secondly, strict adherence to rigid study formats is not conductive to the development of crucial functional skills in the absence of an appropriate education through play. This is largely because traditional education focuses on standardised testing and gives little credence to soft skills, or preparation for real-life situations which cannot be taught with pure reliance on standard techniques. A highly credible example can be found in an inquiry carried out by the UK government that connected lowered student engagement due to the absence of natural, group-based gamification between peers and ability to develop communicative skills connected to academic, as well as work performance later in life. It is, therefore, pivotal for students to engage in educational activities that have a recreational aspect to them.

To conclude, while one can argue that the singular role of educational institutions is to teach conservatively, I firmly believe that failing to incorporate modern practices, such as interactive media and educational games, will not, ultimately, produce well-adjusted individuals.