These days, many developed countries are able to enjoy the luxury of serving exotic fruit and vegetables from far away countries every day and no matter the season. However, farm-to-table products are often trumpeted as saviours of local economies and many praise the positive environmental impact of food that was sourced close to their homes. While I strongly agree with the latter, there is something to be said about having easy access to a wide variety of food from other parts of the world.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that supporting your resident farmers serves a major role in the amelioration of regional economic conditions and also beneficially impacts the overall environment by reducing toxic fumes produced by ships, planes, and food transport vehicles. The reason for this is that when major big box supermarkets switch to smaller, local businesses as their suppliers, they save money and curb the consumption of fossil fuels from international shipping. Additionally, people are more likely to buy nutritionally rich foodstuffs that are not chemically treated and full of preservatives. For example, recent studies conducted by the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs indicate that local farmer’s market sales had skyrocketed over a period of last 10 years owing to changing consumer preference for sustainable and locally grown produce.

On the other hand, whilst the premise of local farms providing for all of our needs is an enticing one, people would have to expect shortages in some of their favourite vegetables and fruit. Even if we chose to rely solely on what our neighbours can grow, we would have to forego the variety and availability of, for example, fruits of non-native plants. This means that cultivating crops such as bananas, or pineapples is virtually impossible in cold climates. Conversely, you would struggle to grow rutabagas or beets in tropical conditions. Therefore, it would be more sensible to encourage people to think globally and buy locally, however, it shouldn’t be the only available alternative on the market.

From the arguments and examples outlined above, I resolutely believe that having a preference for local produce is incontrovertibly beneficial to people’s general well-being, local economic situation, as well as the environment. However, it must remain a simple question of preference and not a result of limited food choices.