Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agr

In some parts of the world, supermarkets are flourishing rapidly therefore, putting in danger the existence of local business. A part of society thinks that local people would suffer owing to the closure of local business. I entirely agree with this notion because local markets are easily available and products are cheaper there.

To start with, the local markets are made for the residents living in a certain place, and they are in the areas which are easily accessible to most of inhabitants. The products in these markets ultimately meet the requirements of citizens. Hence, they are made in a small town, the rates of products are not high, so the people of middle and lower socioeconomic status can afford them unlike to the high priced products in supermarket. A survey of a suburb showed that only few among the whole community could bear to shop from supermarkets owing to the cost of goods there. Moreover, as they are usually built in cities, they have to pay a handsome amount to get there.

Furthermore, these local markets provide an employment to the people living there. Since they do not require one to be educated, the illiterate have the chance to work and survive in the contemporary era. As it is known, people living in small communities cannot afford to educate their child, so the closure of local markets would threaten the survival of the locals. Hence, it can be seen that these local businesses are a source of income and a mean of existence for residents living there. Moreoever, depletion of local markets would increase the crime rate as well.

To conclude, local businesses provide job opportunities to the local and aid them in meeting their needs, so their closure would in turn effect the survival of people.