Due to the development and rapid expansions of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In my opinion, I disagree with the idea that closed the local business is synonymous with the dying of local communities.

First of all, the development of supermarkets offers a huge potential for local businesses especially small businesses. As a result, supermarkets can help businesses distribute their products nationwide or even larger, worldwide. For this, businesses can distribute their goods to consumers with reduced shipping costs, which is considered a conundrum for businesses, especially small businesses. Consequently, the expansion of supermarkets is not a knife to kill local businesses, it is also a growth potential for these small businesses. Personally speaking, the small business in local should seize this opportunity as a growth potential rather than a competition, which only brings disadvantages to both businesses and consumers.

Secondly, the development of supermarkets also means increased production for local businesses. It is clear that if a supermarket expands its market, the number of goods consumed will become larger and larger. This means that the supply, local businesses, will have to supply an increasingly large amount of goods. It is not only the development of local businesses but also the promotion of the brand of the business to more customers. As a matter of fact, when the business is known by more people, there will be more potential cooperation customers. This will help your business grow faster.

Finally, With supermarkets’ product and food safety policy, businesses are required to perfect their products. For some small businesses, product quality assurance is almost without any safety standards, especially for traditional businesses. So, the distribution in supermarkets is also an opportunity for these businesses to enhance their products in the current modernization era.

In conclusion, opportunities, the potential, a place to consume goods in large quantities and integrate into the world are the things that the strong development of supermarkets brings to small-scale businesses, especially local industry. Although it comes with many other shortcomings, the benefits it brings are likely to be more.