Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals assume that the closure of small businesses will lead to the extinction of local communities as supermarkets diversify in many countries and local businesses struggle to keep up. In my personal opinion, the decision to close the local business will have a significant impact on the surrounding community.

To begin with, many people in the surrounding neighborhood cannot afford to shop at large markets. This is due to an increase in the price of the products, particularly in comparison to goods sold locally. Shareholders of large stores who want to pay their rent from the income generated by high goods prices on a regular basisAs a result, many people avoid purchasing products at high prices in supermarkets. For instance, in Vietnam, more than half of the goods sold are priced higher than in small shops.

Furthermore, grocery stores are located in areas that are difficult to access. In other words, enormous markets are constructed in large cities far from towns and villages. This means that the population of nearby communities must travel a long distance to obtain basic necessities. As a consequence, people prefer to buy products from local shops because of their convenience and immediate availability. For illustration, in India, more than half of people buy products from small shops because they are cost-effective and provide quick points of interaction.

In conclusion, the closure of small businesses will lead to the eventual demise of local communities because residents will be unable to afford goods from large markets and shops will be built far from the access point. There will be no reason for large-scale markets if local shops sell high-quality products.