E-mail has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive.

Do the disadvantages of using email outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays people are more likely to communicate with others online in social media rather than meet face to face. That makes the impact of email on both professional and social interaction has become more significant than ever. While there are certain drawbacks of the spread of email, I believe that the benefits far outweigh all of them.

On the one hand, the development of emailing has led directly to the decline of traditional communication in both schools and offices. By using email, for instance, employees can work from home, therefore, they may disconnect and no longer get on well with their colleagues. In addition, children and teenagers, who need to interact directly with others to stimulate social and communication skills, are witnessed to be timid and lack fundamental life skills. According to a recent survey by UNICEF, during the distant learning period in 2020, when students had to study at home and receive comments online by emails, the number of depressed child-patients rose over 30%. This is such an abominable condition to human interaction.

On the other hand, the advantages that email brings to life can not be denied by any way. Thanks to the evolution of technology, humans have access to the fastest means of interaction. Email is globalized and freely used by everyone. This not only reduces the time waiting but also saves the money spent for letters and meetings. As an example, the free access to email helps avoid the high prices of phone call service, especially for international calls that charge about 5 dollars per month. Furthermore, emails make everything more convenient for business. It only takes a few minutes to send email across any nation all over the world instead of calling or sending letters.

In conclusion, although utilizing email has its own evident downsides, from my perspective, the beneficial sides counterbalance them.