Education 11: In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who are choosing to educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school.

Do advantages of home education outweigh disadvantages?

Numerous parents who are willing to send their children to school. While this inclination brings drawbacks, I would contend that the advantages of homeschooling still eclipse disadvantages in the long run.

On the one hand, unwillingness to send students to schools brings significantly adverse effects. First and foremost, home-schooling deprives children of chances to interact with teamwork of class discussion with others. Such disadvantage has a negative impact on their future careers progress. The second worthy mentioning problem is that parents do not provide comprehensive knowledge. To elaborate, home- educated commonly do not have enough pedagogical skills and fail to cover intensive knowledge. Consequently, children form misconceptions and superficial understanding.

Notwithstanding mentioned drawbacks, I still opine that educating children at home brings certain benefits. To commence with, children could study at their own pace, which is the most suitable choice for students who are slow learners and fail to adapt to a fast-paced style of learning. As a result, they would achieve better academic performances by virtue of having adjusted their speed. Another noticeable benefit is that the school environment has insufficient safety for children. To be more specific, absent parents leads to bullying at school as using drugs, child abuse or teenage pregnancy. This is because children are so vulnerable and naive that they cannot distinguish right from wrong or ask for help in case of being endangered. Meanwhile, home-schooling ensures children's safety under parents’ supervision.