Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right and wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Teachers are asserted to be in charge of teaching ethical lessons to students by some people, while others suppose that they should not be involved in anything more than academic education. Albeit imparting academic concepts is among the most seminal missions of educators, there is a need that they contribute to reinforcing the morality of students.

On the one hand, the opinion that the teacher had better teach only academic subjects is validly convincing. First and foremost, teachers are pedagogically accomplished and have a profound understanding of specialized knowledge. Therefore, focusing on teaching academic subjects not only intensifies the quality of their lectures but also allows them to take full advantage of their precious time. Second, moral lessons are deemed to be more influential and effective when being taught by students’ guardians. To elaborate, due to close relationships during upbringing, scholars have greater faith in parents, hence becoming more open to their advice regarding morality.

On the other hand, I advocate that educators should incorporate moral lessons into the school curriculum. First, teaching ethics at school helps stimulate the comprehensive development of students, thereby generating a solid foundation for their forward prospects. As an illustration, highly educated and well-mannered students may enjoy more occupational opportunities in the future. Besides, the implementation of ethical education can alleviate the incidence of various acute problems. For example, bullying may fail to emerge in the academic environment if all students are morally enlightened and behave properly.

To sum up, although imparting specialized knowledge is one of the most critical traits of teaching, contemporary academies should also attach special importance to ethical lessons.