Education is more effective than punishment in reducing crime. Do you agree or disagree ?

In this day and age, crime is on the rise and has become a major concern in all distinct countries. It, therefore, is pivotal to find several ways to eliminate offenders. It is thought by some people that education is a more useful solution than chastisement. From my perspective, I completely contradict the statement; because I believe both ways are beneficial for dealing with the problem and this essay will address the explanations for my views as follows.

To begin with, schooling occupies an important role in educating humans not only skills, competence but also their personalities to become a good person not break the law. Humans attend class when they are a child and learn moral subjects with some basic activities which are allowed or not. Therefore, with a young age, they have a slight comprehension about good and bad characteristics. Brick by brick, they learnt about typical laws in their countries and a myriad of repercussions if someone commits an offence. Having some knowledge of the law, students are better equipped to prevent situations that could lead to them becoming a wrongdoer. According to research, it found that children who didn’t participate in the preschool program, who therefore missed out on some important opportunity for early childhood development, were 70% more likely to be arrested for a crime by the age of 18.

On the other hand, there are numerous compelling reasons why punishments are effective for lessening criminals. Firstly, chastisement for crimes will make them careful and change their behavior. The punishments can be fines or imprisonment or simply discipline which remind criminals not to commit any more violations. In addition, the punishment for crime will be an example to deter people. For instance, students who fight in school will be warned in front of the board and all students if the impact is not great and may be expelled. Therefore, it helps to remind the rest of the students in the school about the behavior that commits the school rules.

To sum up, it is necessary to combine education and appropriate punishments to reduce crime rates. Besides, each person needs to be aware of illegal acts and stay away from it.