Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All levels of education, from primary school to tertiary education should be free. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

These days, education should become more appropriate for people from all financial conditions in the world. While I agree with the reasoning that education should not have any tuition fee, I also want to argue that this can lead to various consequences for the country which implements this strategy.

On the one hand, the free education scheme would bring numerous benefits not only for individuals but also for society. First and foremost, when education does not charge any fees, it will open up various opportunities for the public to access the academic path. This means that people who have low financial conditions also have a chance to enhance their knowledge from the official academy. Therefore, individuals will be equipped with enough knowledge which may help them have a high-paid job and also improve their quality of life. Furthermore, free education has the ability to bring various positive effects for society. Free education can provide a knowledge-based workforce for the country using this policy. For instance, Singapore, which is one of the countries that propels the policy of free education in the strongest way, is able to have a knowledge-based workforce which contributes to the fast and durable economy of this country.

However, making education free also causes several downsides, even impractical in undeveloped countries. If free education occurs, this can lead to the fact that people will take it for granted, and they will not be respected as the education which have to pay. This also result in the rate of truancy or dropping out of school will significantly increase. Moreover, free education may also become a burden for the governments, especially for developing countries. The authorities have to pay all the fees, including teachers and school administrators’ salaries, and for maintaining the schools’ infrastructure. All of those will become a huge burden for various countries all around the world, which do not have enough budget to implement it.

In conclusion, governments should considerably examine before operating a free education policy, even though it carries a range of benefits to avoid the worst result that can happen with their countries.