Education should be accessible to people from all economic backgrounds. All levels of education, from primary school to tertiary education, should be free. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that schooling should be made accessible to all learners regardless of their different financial status which means that school fee must be abolished. Although many argue that there are several drawbacks when it comes to eliminating school payment, I strongly agree that this radical reform should be implemented as it obviously brings about enormous advantages to society and individuals.

First and foremost, free education can contribute to the elimination of disparity among learners. To be more specific, a big number of students drop out of school and end up doing menial jobs, especially in rural areas due to their poverty. School tuition is considered barriers for those who are not eligible to pay the fee whereas affluent learners have the best condition to pursue their learning. Although some argue that children from privileged background deserve better education, I believe that this can create positive environment to educate children at tender age about social equality and is beneficial in forming their personality.

Second, costless education contributes to encouraging learners to pursue their study. Students who need to work part-time to cover their daily expenses can concentrate more on their courses and are free from financial pressure. Despite the fact that this change can trigger an enormous amount of pressure on the government fund, it can be considered a long-term investment thank to removing illiteracy and having more educated people who is likely to serve the country in the future.

In consideration of those abovementioned viewpoints, I reaffirm my opinion that schooling should be complimentary as it is an effective method to enhance educational equality and stimulate students’ learning attitude. In the years to come, it is foreseeable that free education will be implemented globally, especially in developing countries.