Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Human resources play a vital role in the development of the businesses and entrepreneurs so setting bunch of criteria for recruitment are extremely necessary to hunt potential candidates for companies. While individual background which includes favorites and passion are highly appreciated as a job requirement in some fields, I totally agree that generally these information is not relevant and necessary for employers in the process of hiring new staff.

On the one hand, it is a fact that personal information has become one of the priority concerns of employers when considering and recruiting employees. In fact, toward some fields of business, understanding candidates' hobbies and interests will probably assist recruiters effectively to select the most appropriate person who desire to cooperate with the team and company in a long term and contribute themselves to the organization and the success of the business. In particular, tour guide recruitment is a typical example for this opinion. With the belief that love and passion for traveling and photographic perspectives can be an advantage of an individual which will support the tour guide in their journeys and maintain their fire of enthusiasm when working, employers often pay attention in candidates' sharing about their personal background when looking the resume, mentioning and observing in the interview. Hence, they tend to prefer those with interest in tourism for the vacancy position. Similarly, marital status also affect the tour guide as marriage often limit time and enthusiasm of the workers in their work than single status.

On the other hand, most companies respect personal life and background of individuals as a part of their democratic rights and draw more concern in other aspects of employees such as their experience and skills so these information is not necessary in general. Initially, in the modern working environment, interests and hobbies of the workers are isolated with the business matter so personal aspects are often be respected by avoiding to mention because some people may be not willing to share it with others. Besides that, as the fundamental purpose of headhunting is finding out the potential candidate who they can work with and bring more benefits for the business, personal information is just a tiny issues which is overwhelm by applicants' working experience and skills. Indeed, what recruiters emphasize on is how employees can address the problems occurring when working with colleges and partners based on their practical lessons, achievement and skills previously in other businesses or their activities. Therefore, as can be seen in almost interviews, what the interviewers demand is not candidates' personal information but demonstration of their abilities and prospects to dedicate for the company in the future.

In conclusion, despite some advantages of understanding personal background in some circumstances, these information is not regarding the success of recruitment and should not be mentioned in details.