Entrance exam into universities has been used in a number of countries. But while it may offer several advantages, some people say that it should be abolished and replaced by another way of selecting students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that entrance exam into universities should be abolished and made way for other selecting methods remains a source of controversy. From my standpoint, I am convinced that despite its advantages to some extent, entrance exam ought not to be a requirement for students who desire to pursue higher education.

On the one hand, admission test to universities proves to be beneficial to either students or educational system as a whole. Firstly, it acts as an effective evaluation measure to classify levels of students. According to the results, students with high scores will enter their major which generates huge demand for academic knowledge in certain professions. Meanwhile, examinees with low scores will opt for vocational schools to get the necessary training to secure a job quickly. Secondly, this exam is regarded as the first challenge for pupils who wish to attend top colleges. Passing entrance exam at high results serves as a target which they must pull themselves together to achieve. To some youngsters, this is also the warm-up in preparation for an independent life in the future.

On the other hand, entrance exam has shown a lot of disadvantages which sometimes become hindrance to the studying path of students. First of all, due to its important role in evaluating pupils' levels, learners have to carry a heavy burden to have a satisfactory performance in the exam. They concentrate so much on mastering any subjects that nearly wears them out. Facts have shown that heavy pressures on studying has resulted in a number of suicide cases and mental illnesses such as autism. Furthermore, high schools now tend to shift their focus on score achievements rather than knowledge enhancement. Students are hardly interested in gaining knowledge as a way of discovering the world in different fields but they are just concerned about their mark. This attitude gradually changes the true meaning of education.

In conclusion, while universities require entrance exam as an effective tool for students to attend higher education, it is not an optimum selection and should be replaced by alternative measures for the sake of our young generation.