Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people passionately believe in the pivotal role of luck in their path to success. However, I personally think that it is a fairly biased opinion as there are more crucial factors that contribute to the achievement of an individual.

In the first place, industry and determination are considered as two of the leading keys to one's success. Working hard in conjunction with will power enables people to devote their time and effort to finding out the answers to problems, which can be seen in many celebrities of various fields. For instance, Apple CEO Tim Cook has always been a prime example for a workaholic who begins to email employees at 4.30 in the morning. He spent most of his 24 hours in the office working on ideas and plans to make Apple more and more prosperous. Another clear case is Nick Vujicic, an Australian motivational speaker who unfortunately suffered from a rare disorder, Despite the absence of four limbs, he still exerts himself to live and study with a positive mind and finally managed to earn a bachelor degree with a double major in accountancy and financial planning. These two great man set a good example for those achieving success by their own attempts.

On the other hand, luck is just a small factor leading to one's achievement. Firstly, people cannot solely be dependent on luck to fulfill their aims. For instance, students who hope to be lucky in the exams and do not revise carefully stand a slim chance of receiving a satisfactory result. Secondly, luck only contributes to short-term fortune. People may be lucky occasionally, which is exemplified by winning lottery or buying a good bargain. However, luck just comes once in a lifetime. Relying purely on it without one's effort to work is likely to result in bitter disappointment.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people must be extremely determined and industrious in order to pursue their passion till the end.