As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilites. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that besides making money, enterprises should also accept social responsibilities remains a source of controversy. From my standpoint, I am convinced that in addition to the attempt of maximizing their profits, businesses should run their companies in a socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, it is obvious that enterprises put the aim of earning profits on the top priority for the sake of individuals and community as a whole. In order to survive in a competitive world, they exert themselves to earn money to cover running costs namely employees' wages and payments for equipments and buildings. What is more, by generating profits from commercial activities, businesses act as a supplier of national budget with a large amount of tax. These sources of revenue can be allocated for key fields such as infrastructure improvements and education initiatives. Furthermore, businesses with good financial health tend to expand scales of production and set up new branches, which offers a considerable number of job opportunities; thus it makes a contribution to solve unemployment problem.

On the other hand, while conducting business is of great importance to enterprises, they need to take their social obligations into consideration. Firstly, production processes must not lead to environmental degradation which has been at the top of public concern in the industrial age. The cases of global warming stemming from factory emissions and irresponsible disposal of untreated wastes have rung an alarm bell in human awareness of environmental protection. Secondly, businesses which make huge profits should put money back to the needy in our community through philanthropic activities and charitable donations. Unilever and Google are two prime examples of generous companies which enhance their public image by holding many charity campaigns and financial scholarships for different social purposes.

In a nutshell, that businesses have sought to make profits is a fundamental principle of economics which all entrepreneurs attempt to achieve. However, they should also profoundly reflect upon their social responsibilities as a way to contribute to a flourishing society.