The environment problem facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Government and large companies should responsible for the deducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Environmental protection is one of the most important challenges almost every country is facing. However, whether the government and the big firms have to contribute to preserving our environment is a controversial issue. My view is that we as individuals also have a crucial role to do environmental protection.

First of all, it is clear that it is human activities that have negatively impacted on the environment throughout history. This means that both environmental contamination and conservation are the long-term process, and no single government or corporations can tackle this challenge alone. So, every one of us needs to participate in fighting climate change by taking public transit, carpool, ride a bicycle or use fuel-efficient vehicles. Moreover, the public’s wills and behaviours have a critical influence on the government’s policies and the company’s strategies. For example, if citizens say no to plastic bags and avoid using thrown-away items, the firms that manufacture such products will switch to produce other environment-friendly substitutes in order to survive in the market.

This is not to say that government and large business have not needed to be responsible for the deterioration of the ecosystem. Indeed, government can enact laws and offer programs to raise the public’s low-carbon awareness; Companies can promote eco-friendly products to change people’s consuming habits. But they also need an individual’s appreciation and support to bring good results.

In conclusion, every effort is precious when we are protecting the environment. Meanwhile, local authorities and organizations must shoulder their responsibility to develop renewable energies such as wind, hydro and solar power. Only by doing so we can assure that we could hand this beautiful planet to our next generation and the next generation after.