: Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental problems such as deforestation, global warming and climate change are becoming increasingly common and attract more and more public attention. However, there are some irresponsible people who argue that responsibility to protecting the environment should fall on politicians not individuals due to the fact that individuals can do too little. I absolutely disagree with these people.

It is undeniable that politicians play an important role in tackling environmental problems. First, in order to do this, for example, to slow down global warming, it is critical to reduce the number of traffic on the road and people’s reliance on fuel. Adopting policies which enable the development of renewable energy resources and the improvement of public transport services could be an applicable solution. It is politicians who suggest and enforce these policies. In addition, by using their influence, they could, for instance, encourage people to consume environmentally friendly products instead of those with a lot of packaging or give speeches at schools and other educational institutes to teach younger generations the importance of environmental preservation and how to coexist with other animals and plants.

However, it is flawed to use the reasons mentioned above to underestimate the effect of ordinary people on protecting the environment because they are able to greatly contribute to this process. By refusing to buy commodities manufactured by bad environmental practices or exerting pressure on governments to ban these practices, the public can put companies which maximizing their revenue by exploiting the environment out of business. They can also support for enterprises whose products are biodegradable. Without public involvement, it is extremely hard for these businesses to out-compete the bad ones.

In conclusion, although the politicians’ role in protecting the environment is undoubtful, normal people can greatly affect environmental safeguard by carefully choosing which products to buy.