Essay 6: Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Free higher education has always been a topic of controversy. Some people believe that funding education for all students regardless of their backgrounds is an effective strategy. However, I totally disagree with this opinion and suppose that the drawbacks of this program still outweigh its benefits.

Under no obligation do authorities have to develop free university education accessible to all students. First and foremost, to fund every university courses, the states will have to pay for infrastructure investment, staff, and educational equipment,… this huge amount of money can be a burden to the government and might push them to the verge of bankruptcy. Moreover, that money could be allocated for other important matters such as social security, public transport, or healthcare. Secondly, given that many states, whose budget are under constraint these days, they might have to increase taxes to provide financial support for free university education. Consequently, the targeted taxpayers, whether they have college-going kids or not will have to pay those taxes.

It must be acknowledged that not every people should have the right to get free education. Individuals who come from affluent families should pay for the cost since they have the ability to pay the cost of tuition and other expenses associated with study like transport, accommodation, or groceries. In addition, although without having to pay tuition, students, especially who live in big cities still have to cover soaring basic living expenses. For example, in Germany where all colleges are free of charge, scholars still have to resort to jobs or loans to cover rent and food.

In conclusion, I deem that governments do not have to earmark the budget to give tertiary education to all college attendees irrespective of their background.